The committee of Tampere Regional Public Transport protects the interests of the joint local authority, supervises its management and establishes its operational principles. The committee also approves the fares and tariffs, determines the quantity and quality of public transport services provided, makes decisions on the services to be procured and approves service contracts.

The Deputy Mayor is the chairman of the committee. The members and deputy members are elected by the City Council from among the ordinary or deputy members of the City Council.  The City Council appoints a deputy chairman among the elected.

The committee of Tampere Public Transport consists of 14 members:  7 members representing Tampere and 1 member representing each other member municipalities: Pirkkala, Nokia, Kangasala, Lempäälä, Ylöjärvi, Vesilahti and Orivesi.